Go to the
                homepage of the Vrije Universiteit. Go to the homepage of the department of physics and
                astronomy. Go to the
                homepage of the faculty of sciences.

group logo

Ultrafast Laser Physics and Precision Metrology For Fundamental Tests

Jobs / Positions
group logo


The Ultrafast Laser Physics and Precision Metrology Group is headed by prof. dr. K.S.E. Eikema. The group is a subdivision of the Quantum Metrology and Laser Applications group headed by prof. dr. W. Ubachs, and a picture of the total group of about 25-30 people is shown below.

group                picture 2018
The total combined group in front of the National Maritime Museum Amsterdam in 2018

Current PhD students and postdocs & master students in the group of K.S.E. Eikema:

PhD students:
Charlaine Roth (PhD student)

Elmer Grundeman (PhD student)
Andres Martinez de Velasco (PhD student)
Yuri van der Werf (PhD student)
Kees Steinebach (PhD student)

Vincent Barbe (postdoc)
Julian Krauth (postdoc)

Mathieu Collombon (postdoc)
Raphael Jannin (postdoc)

For the members in the combined group of Stefan Witte and Kjeld Eikema at ARCNL, see the ARCNL EUV Generation and Imaging group (and also see below).

Current collaborators:

Dr. Stefan Witte Group leader of at ARCNL of the EUV Generation and Imaging Group.
Prof. dr. Wim Ubachs, dr. Edcel Salumbides and prof. dr. Rick Bethlem on the theme of precision spectroscopy in molecules, and testing the constancy of fundamental constants.
Prof. dr. Rick Bethlem, on two meta-stable helium projects (determination of alpha, and charge radius difference 4He and 3He).
Dr. Jeroen Koelemeij on the theme HD+ spectroscopy and time and frequency dissemination over fiber links.
Prof. dr. Frederic Merkt and co-workers from the ETH Zurich, on the theme of precision spectroscopy in molecules (H2).

Former group members and thesis:

Former PhD students:
dr. Laura Dreissen: thesis in 2020
dr. Matthijs Jansen: thesis in 2020
dr. Robert Altmann: thesis in 2018
dr. Itan Barmes: thesis in 2017
dr. Daniel Noom: thesis in 2016
dr. Tjeerd Pinkert: thesis in 2015
dr. Jonas Morgenweg: thesis in 2014
dr. Dominik Z. Kandula: thesis in 2011
dr. Anne Lisa Wolf: thesis in 2011
dr. Roel Zinkstok: thesis in 2008
dr. Stefan Witte: thesis in 2007

Former Postdocs:
dr. Maxime Favier (still partly involved in the He+ project)
dr. Denis Rudolf
dr. Sandrine Galtier

dr. Axel Ruehl

dr. Christoph Gohle
dr. Amandine Renault

Former collaborators:

Dr. Wim Vassen and co-workers on the theme of precision spectroscopy in metastable helium.
Prof. dr. Arie den Boef, ASML Eindhoven and VU Amsterdam, on continuum generation and computational imaging

Dr. Ronald Holzwarth and co-workers of Menlo Systems GmbH, on the theme of control electronics and (frequency comb) lasers.
Dr. Erwin Bente and co-workers of the TU Eindhoven, on the theme of quantum-dot based modelocked lasers.
Prof. Marco Marangoni and co-workers from the Politecnico di Milano, Italy, on the theme of frequency comb generation in the mid-infrared.
Dr. I. Hartl and dr. M.E. Fermann from IMRA (USA) on Yb-fiber lasers and mid-infrared comb generation.
Dr. S.A. van den Berg and co-workers, VSL (Netherlands), on ion traps and frequency comb laser excitation

We gratefully acknowledge financial support from the following organizations:

NWO NWO Laser Europe VU STW

Questions? Contact: k.s.e.eikema@vu.nl